Historic Hudson Valley sites††† 2009-05-02


This historic Hudson Valley organization runs several historic sites in the Hudson Valley, north of the city, most in Westchester county.††† Much of the initial funding came from the Rockefeller family.See http://www.hudsonvalley.org.


See http://www.kodakgallery.com/edp128128/main/090418_hudson_valley for my photos.

Note that for 2009 this was added to the list of free museums for BNYM employees!






Washington Irving's Sunnysideestate facing the Hudson in Tarrytown, just south of the Tappan Zee Bridge.












From the outside, the Union Church of Pocantino Hillslooks like a fairly ordinary, quaint suburban church, but being near the main Rockefeller estate and funded in part by the Rockefellers, the stained glass windows from the 1950s were done by Marc Chagall and Henri Matisse.


The window photos are from the association's web site, as they were very strict about photos.Marc Chagall(who was Jewish) did most of the windows.†† Right: From From Henri Matisse, over the altar.



Marc Chagallís windows





Finally, onto Phillipsburg Manor, on the north side of Tarrytown, which is a site of colonial buildings demonstrated in the manner of which a farming community of 1750 would be operated in.



1750 version of sheep shearing, and despite the rather threatening looking shears, did not seem to hurt the sheep.


Water wheel and mill stone.



A cooper making barrels by hand.


Croton Aqueductand Sing Sing Electric Chair ††2009-05-09


2 unrelated cultural activities for the price of one in historic Ossining, NY, a town on the Hudson a few miles 'up the river' from the Tappan Zee Bridge

First, a tour of one of the few accessible points into the interior of the Old Croton Aqueduct, which provided New York City with its first reliable water supply when opened in 1842, bringing water from about 40 miles to the north from the Croton Dam.††† See http://www.aqueduct.org and http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Croton_Aqueduct for more of this history.††† This particular spot in Ossining is about 30 miles north of the city.†† The Aqueduct was closed

Then, in bit of historical coincidence, you may be aware that Ossining is the location of Sing Sing Prison, still in operation after almost 200 years.††† A small museum in a local community center - and coincidentally right by the Aqueduct has some artifacts from the prison.†† Parts of the complex are still in operation.††† See http://www.roadsideamerica.com/story/2177 for a description.

More photos of this activity can be found at: http://www.kodakgallery.com/edp128128/main/090509_ossining_aqueduct_sing_sing_museum














This building provided the access to the tunnel, called the 'Weir Chamber', a name for a valve chamber.††













Due to the topology of the New York area, the system is completely gravity fed, water flowing from the north down south to the city.












Looking down from the top of the chamber.












































Factoid: the southern end of the system was a reservoir at the site of the main library on 5 Ave and 42nd St.



Much of the right-of-way has been maintained by the State of New York and City of New York as hiking trails.††† Various sections can take into the Bronx in Van Cortlandt Park and just west of the Zoo.

Another factoid - from http://www.forgotten-ny.com/STREET%20SCENES/HIGH%20BRIDGE/highbr.html.†† Next time you pass this structure on the Deegan Expressway, it is called the High Bridge and carried the aqueduct from the Bronx into Manhattan.

Now onto the Sing Sing Prisonexhibit.





A very accurate replica of 'Old Sparky'used until 1965 for electrocutions in the State of New York.Ironically this replica was built by inmates.†† The State of New York still holds the original.













Everything you would possibly want to know about prison shanks(homemade weapons).

Word To HTML Converter